Graphics Card. (OPINIONS)

I am not an expert on graphic cards, but my experience and my knowledge based on my readings taught me this :

Memory is not THE most important thing on a graphic card (it is mostly for marketting purposes). 2 or 3 GB for most games is sufficient. 4GB is only useful if you have large 4K screen, or triple screens. The important things to look are :

- Type of memory and bandwith : for example two graphic cards with the same processor, one  with 4GB DDR3 and one with 1GB GDDR5. The second one will be way faster. Memory Bandwith is also very important. The same GC but different bandwith will have a large decrease in performance

- The second important thing to look is the clock speed of the GC processor.

So the first advice i would give you, is take the 2GB version. You'll pay less for the same performance. Unless you plan to buy a 4K screen...

That in mind, you'll see that both cards are similar, though the R9 380 is a bit more powerful. Here are the specific performance benchmark : 

http://gpuboss.com/gpus/Radeon-R9-380-vs-GeForce-GTX-960

You'll see that the R9 has a way better processor (performance x2), but poor memory bandwith. In result, 3D Mark tests are similar ! You see it confirms what i told you above.

To choose, you'll have to look at other aspects of the GC. The choice can be done on details, such as reliability, consumption, silence, environment, etc ...

The GTX 960 is much quieter than the 380, due to lower power consumption (120W  against 180W).
Reliability seems fine for MSI releases.
You'll need to know if your computer has the power to run your GC. Maybe it can take 120W but can it take 180W ?

Besides 960 has a better HDMI port.

I would advise you to take the GTX960 2GB MSI !
Runny likes this

I am not an expert on graphic cards, but my experience and my knowledge based on my readings taught me this :